John Day River Territory

The John Day River Territory encompasses four counties who share the John Day River: Gilliam, Grant, Sherman and Wheeler Counties. The four counties work together to provide visitors with a distinctly Eastern Oregon experience; one filled with historic hotels, excellent dining, award-winning museums, quaint communities, dude ranches, one-of-a-kind attractions, and our unique brand of pioneer hospitality.

Cyclists will also find car-free roads, bike-friendly businesses, and stunning scenery.

For motorcycle enthusiasts, our roads' twists and turns are the stuff of dreams.

And, did we mention, the John Day River Territory is home to the Painted Hills, one of the 7 Wonders of Oregon, and the world-famous John Day Fossil Beds National Monument too?

Ready to start planning your John Day River Territory adventure?
Start by checking out this great Communities Powered by Tourism video, which provides a glimpse of the special people and places that make up this region. The video was awarded "Best Short Film for Responsible Tourism" during the World Responsible Tourism Awards in London in Fall 2014.